Switched at Birth = Da Vinci Code?

I added a Switched at Birth spark to my Google+, and this article came up that made me groan.

http://www.welovesoaps.net/2011/07/switched-at-birth-code.html

People have noticed that every ep is named after a painting! It MUST be just like the Da Vinci Code! Please. You can name your episodes after paintings all you want, but that doesn’t mean it’s symbolic. Dogs Playing Poker is about as literal as you can get. Same with Portrait of my Father, same with Stag Hunt. I do like This is Not a Pipe, though.

What grinds my gears the most about this article is that it throws the question out there, and instead of attempting to answer it, just posts an image of the painting along with a summary of its episode. Why not try to actually examine meanings behind these paintings, look at the context of them, critically analyze the work of art, and look for comparisons in the episode/series? This is lazy writing.

And while I do find the Da Vinci Code an ok read for an airplane or similar situation, I strongly dislike that this is what it has made people think art history and semiotics is: looking for random, historically inviable “symbols” and thinking that’s interpretation. It’s fine for a cheap paperback. Don’t extrapolate further, or you risk pissing off the people who actually work with art and take it seriously.

*Note* I haven’t stopped recapping Switched at Birth – I just haven’t been able to find screencaps for anything past 1×05. Eventually, I’ll cave and make my own, but for now I’m hoping some kind soul will upload some so I don’t have to 🙂

,

  1. #1 by Sheryll Foglio on August 1, 2011 - 10:30 am

    Somebody necessarily assist to make critically articles I’d state. That is the very first time I frequented your website page and so far? I surprised with the research you made to create this particular publish amazing. Magnificent process!

  2. #2 by Ernest Dufer on August 3, 2011 - 5:31 am

    Thankyou for this marvellous post, I am glad I observed this internet site on yahoo.

Leave a Reply

