Two seconds to adulthood

I realize this isn’t tv related, but it’s my blog and I can do what I want with it, dammit!

Anyway, you know all those tasks that you whine about as a child that your mom yells at you for not doing, always adding “It takes two seconds!” to instill in you just how easy the task is and how lazy you are in fact being? Like, straightening your shoes in the hallway so they’re not strewn about the floor. Or putting the lid on the garbage can instead of letting it lie on the ground. Or putting the toilet seat down. These things literally do take two seconds, so it’s amazing that decades later, I still don’t do them on my own. It’s much easier to throw garbage in the direction of the trash can from the couch than it is to get up and place the garbage in the can. It’s also much easier to come home from work, immediately flop on the bed, and kick my shoes off the end of it than it is to take my shoes off in the hallway, leave them nicely by the door, and then flop into bed. However, even though I am getting to my bed-flop two seconds earlier, it is definitely true that if I had taken the time to just arrange my shoes neatly, anyone who entered my apartment would be much more convinced that I am, in fact, an adult. So for now, I’m going to take the tack that two-second tasks really do add up to adulthood and see where that goes. They can make me make my bed, but they’ll never make me give up my Disney Princess checks!

Edit: I actually should say this is related to television, because I mostly omit these two-second-tasks because I’m watching tv and don’t want to get up, or I’m about to watch tv.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

